Advent Psalms – Thursday of Week Three

I have a love hate relationship with The Message version of the Bible, and the psalms are often where that dichotomy is strongest, however Psalm 30 falls very firmly into the love side.  For me this translation makes the psalm very real, grounded in my life here and now rather than words and ideas being translated from far away in time and distance.  I see the close relationship between that wild lament and whirling dancing, have often experienced them interrupting each other in mid flow.  I have lost count of the times I have thanked God for getting me out of a mess, or yelled at God to help me out and I am well known for bursting into song.

So join me in a moment of summer with wild flowers all around and remember the hope to which we are called, the longest night approaches but soon the days will be lengthening once more, God does not leave us in darkness soon his Son will appear.

I give you all the credit, God you got me out of that mess, you didn’t let my foes gloat.

God, my God, I yelled for help and you put me together.
God, you pulled me out of the grave, gave me another chance at life when I was down-and-out.

All you saints! Sing your hearts out to God!  Thank him to his face!
He gets angry once in a while, but across a lifetime there is only love.
The nights of crying your eyes out give way to days of laughter.

When things were going great I crowed, “I’ve got it made.
I’m God’s favorite. He made me king of the mountain.”
Then you looked the other way and I fell to pieces.

I called out to you, God; I laid my case before you:
“Can you sell me for a profit when I’m dead? auction me off at a cemetery yard sale?
When I’m ‘dust to dust’ my songs and stories of you won’t sell.
So listen! and be kind! Help me out of this!”

You did it: you changed wild lament into whirling dance;
You ripped off my black mourning band and decked me with wildflowers.
I’m about to burst with song; I can’t keep quiet about you.
God, my God, I can’t thank you enough.

cropped-stoneleigh-abbey-gardens-03.jpg

Please leave a comment if you wish.

