Advent Psalms – Monday of Week Three

Do not let those who wait for you be put to shame;
let them be ashamed who are wantonly treacherous.
Make me to know your ways, O Lord;
teach me your paths.
Lead me in your truth, and teach me,
for you are the God of my salvation;
for you I wait all day long.
Be mindful of your mercy, O Lord, and of your steadfast love,
for they have been from of old.
Do not remember the sins of my youth or my transgressions;
according to your steadfast love remember me,
for your goodness’ sake, O Lord!
Good and upright is the Lord;
therefore he instructs sinners in the way.

Psalm 25:3-8

As I read and prayed over this psalm I found myself being pulled to another season of the Christian year and contemplating the woman as they made their journey to the tomb on that first Easter dawn – ‘Do not let those who wait for you be put to shame;’  Advent is about heading to the glorious return of the Messiah, about hoping that all things will be made new and all sorrowing and signing cease.  As those women walked their hearts were heavy full of sorrow, they didn’t know they were walking towards a glorious new beginning.  Today I will be praying for all those walk daily with heavy hearts unaware of the journey they are making and the joy that awaits them.

03 Dawning

Please leave a comment if you wish.

