Advent Psalms – Thursday Week Two

I will extol you, my God and King, and bless your name for ever and ever.
Every day I will bless you, and praise your name for ever and ever.
Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised; his greatness is unsearchable.
One generation shall laud your works to another, and shall declare your mighty acts.
The Lord is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.
The Lord is good to all, and his compassion is over all that he has made.
All your works shall give thanks to you, O Lord, and all your faithful shall bless you.
They shall speak of the glory of your kingdom, and tell of your power,
to make known to all people your mighty deeds, and the glorious splendour of your kingdom.
Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, and your dominion endures throughout all generations.
The Lord is faithful in all his words, and gracious in all his deeds.

Allepo is very much in my thoughts this Advent, and it has given me a new perspective on today’s verses from the Psalms, namely Pslam 145:1-4, 8-13.  In particular verse 8; ‘The Lord is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love.’  As I have previously said I do not believe in a vengeful God, smiting enemies left, right and center.  I do believe that God is gracious and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love, but.  The destruction in Aleppo is staggering, and it doesn’t seem to getting any better, there doesn’t seem to be the slightest sign of things improving.  I find myself crying out: ‘What about justice for the people of Aleppo?’  The human heart can be a stubborn thing, I believe God is trying to turn hearts, like he tried to turn Pharaoh’s heart when the Israelites were still captives in Egypt.  Are those hearts who can put an end to this as stubborn as his were?  That is not for me to judge but it is for me to learn from.

So today I will be reflecting not on their possible stubbornness of heart, but just where my heart might be equally as stubborn.  What is God calling me to do and I am refusing, what destruction of God plan for peace and love to conquer is my stubborn heart causing?

aleppo

Please leave a comment if you wish.

