‘Twas the Night Before Christmas

It has been a tragic final run up to Christmas in Glasgow once more this year as the events of Monday sent shock waves through the city.  However, I was reminded in a conversation that for many others also this will be the first Christmas without a loved one, for still others there will be no Christmas joy as they face difficult times ahead, and for yet others it will be a lonely time – not out of choice which an increasing number are choosing to do – with only memories to keep them company.

Over the last couple of months I have been dabbling with the paint brush, I had a hankering to do something for Christmas but I really didn’t know what, I painted and re-painted countless times.  For the past couple of weeks an unfinished painting has been sitting in its own Advent, waiting for me to finish it.  Today it was finished, finished with fog as a prayer and hope to those who are lost in any kind of fog this Christmas, a prayer and a hope that Christmas will break through the fog and shine brightly in their lives.   This for me is the cusp of Advent hope and Christmas peace.

The Fog will Lift

A couple of times in the past I have painted as I prayed however this picture in particular is for me not a work of art but a prayer, an icon of kinds I suppose.

One thought on “‘Twas the Night Before Christmas

Please leave a comment if you wish.

