Small World Syndrome

Back in 2007 while I was still the other side of the river and city at East Kilbride I blogged about Craigend Castle here.  Now 5 years later it is just up the road from us and very much more overgrown.

Those who know me, know that I enjoy trudging through cemeteries and even more so old church graveyards reading headstones and taking pictures of unusual of different headstones, so it will be no surprise to hear that when Hubby and I took a drive down the north side of the Clyde a graveyard attracted my attention.  As we looked we discovered this:

This memorial which is part of the second parish church in Rhu (The third is the one now standing with its clock chiming out to remind the village of the passage of time.) is to members oft he family which lived at Craigend Castle.  Why they lived in the shadow of the Campsies but were buried overlooking the Clyde is a mystery to me.

Please leave a comment if you wish.

