Day Out

Today it was off to the Cathedral where I was looking forward to the coolness of the building as another scorching day hit.

I love our Cathedral Church – one day I must get along with my camera and just spend some time clicking away, and not just the angels – today however wasn’t the day for it.  Today I was there for the annual Ministry Celebration Service which this year included the licensing of those who lead the All-Age Worship at All Saints.  Celia had a previous engagement and Johnathan had to rush away to a rehearsal before the service was over – no end of demands for an opera singing plumber.  But I managed to snap the other four at the end of the service:

It was nice to see several members of the congregation also there to support them and Mike, our Lay Reader who was preaching:

He had admitted to me last week to being slightly nervous about preaching in such a big building with the bishop present, but I doubt that anyone would have known it.  There was a sprinkling of people from all corners of the diocese and it was great to catch up with people, but I missed the usual splash of red from the Cathedral Choir and the congregation could have done with some choral support as the music was obviously unknown by the vast majority of those present.  I also missed the mighty hug I usually get from Frikki after Cathedral services, hopefully I will get that on Sunday when the Diocese returns to witness installing two canons.

Please leave a comment if you wish.

