Through the Fog

At JiF on Tuesday evening, as we explored how God speaks through art which at first glance might seem to have nothing at all to do with religion, I discovered an artist new to me namely Caspar David Friedrich.  How he has passed me by before now I am not quite sure.  He is said to be the leading German Romantic artist of the 19th century and it was this picture which introduced me to his work.  Titled ‘Wanderer Above the Sea of Fog’ some people weren’t impressed by it at all, but I just lost myself in it.  For those gathered it asked questions about; creation in the making; Moses surveying the Promised Land that he will never enter, or about to cross the Red Sea; Jesus being taken up to a high place to be tempted; Jesus’ turmoil in the Garden of Gethsemane; the single tree symbolic of the cross; finishing the race.

Wanderer Above the Sea of Fog by Caspar David Friedrich

After trawling the internet for more of his work I think is my current favourite, but that might change.  I can feel the urge for an expensive book purchase coming on.

Cloister Cemetery in the Snow

Please leave a comment if you wish.

