Well …

Keeping with my new resolution I walked to All Saints this morning.

As I set out the crisp air-filled my lungs making me feel really alive, the sun was bright and it felt good to be out walking rather than stuck in traffic in my car.  I wasn’t alone the dog walkers were out chatting with each other as their canine charges galloped about the whitened grass; mothers were guiding pushchairs loaded with well wrapped up children along the bumpy pavements; and the air was filled with the sound of countless birds chirping away as if their very lives depended on being the one with the loudest, melodious, longest song.  As the blue sky drew my eyes upwards I felt words from the Te Deum reverberate around my head and heart:-

We praise thee, O God:
we acknowledge thee to be the Lord.
All the earth doth worship thee:
the Father everlasting.
To thee all Angels cry aloud:
the Heavens, and all the Powers therein.
To thee Cherubim and Seraphim:
continually do cry,
Holy, Holy, Holy: Lord God of Sabaoth;
Heaven and earth are full of the Majesty :
of thy glory.

I hadn’t even got to church or tasted of those most holy of mysteries and I felt virtuous, my body and soul was being blessed, this walking was a good idea I thought.

On the walk back my thoughts were somewhat different, yes the sun still shone, yes the sky was still the most magnificent blue, yes the birds still sung, and yes other people still walked and wandered along the pathways – most of them taking time to comment to me on what a nice day it was, but it wasn’t the Te Deum that echoed around me, it was Simeon’s words which now rose up to accompany me:-

Lord, now lettest thou thy servant depart in peace : according to thy word.
For mine eyes have seen : thy salvation.

The walking was now looking a very bad idea indeed.  As I got closer to the Rectory I got slower and slower, like a bunny who had the wrong batteries inside.  I felt as if I was walking along with a giant question mark hanging over my head, asking, which will happen first reaching the Rectory or batteries totally running out.

I hadn’t realised just how unfit the last year has made me and therefore my resolve is greater than ever that on Wednesdays the car will be left at home and hopefully it wont be too long before the walk back will also be the joy that the walk too church was this morning.

5 thoughts on “Well …

    • oh, I don’t think you are the only one by a long way Kenny, although with the demise of Matins we might very well be one of the last generations to do so.

      Like

    • ah but that is because you walk back from the station, it isn’t coming back from the church apart so I don’t have that excuse – unfotunately.

      Like

Please leave a comment if you wish.

