No Eyes to Read But Ears to Listen – Books 13, 14 & 15

For this pick I return to some classics, I say return but that isn’t strictly true for these are again some of those which I have never read but always said I would, now at least I have listened.

The Old Curiosity Shop by Charles Dickens –  I am so glad I decided to listen to this one for it reminds me just how good Dickens.  It is a wonderful winding adventure which despite being set so firmly in time is so human it is for today as well.  Pip and his Great Expectations is favorite of mine, now Nell and her grandfather at the quick and clever nib of Dickens have made me laugh and cry as well.  Oh I know there are those of you out there who don’t understand how someone can cry at a book, but would you query someone laughing as they read?

Can You Forgive Her by Anthony Trollope – hmmm this might not be the thing to say but boy it is boring at least to start with.  In fact I started it only to stop it and move on to something else on several occasions.  Guess that shows that even when listening some books can still be hard work.  Eventually however I got there and Alice’s internal struggles captivated me while Lady Glencora intrigued me.  Despite a feeling that the first half could have been condensed by 50% without loosing anything; but that is just my opinion others – you – might think differently; the others Palliser novels might now have to be added to my unwritten list, which despite all this catching up on reading I am doing seems to just be growing longer!

Vanity Fair by William Thackeray – this was one I picked up at the library last week and turned out, disappointingly, to be abridged.  An amusing enough little tale but don’t think I will bother searching out an unabridged version or necessarily pick up another Thackeray, but it’s ticked off the list as another classic done.

Not listened to it yet and wont be reviewing it when I do as, like you, I know the story have seen visual adaptations and even read a child version of the book but have never actually read the actual book, but slipping this epic in under the radar at this point.  War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy – Hubby returned with this from his mum for me, really looking forward to listening to it.  She also sent Five Red Herrings by Dorothy L Sayers a Radio 4 dramatisation and Maeve Binchy’s The Return Journey which is a collection of short stories they will get a mention after I have listened to them, although what with sleeping at night again rather than being wide awake I don’t have as many listening hours – how I wish I had started this audio book lark before.

Please leave a comment if you wish.

