What I Have Been Watching

Having time off when Hubby is still working has allowed me to catch up on some films as well as books, some of these were new to me, some have long been favorites, so here goes with the reviews:

A Good Woman – someone, can’t remember who thank you if it was you, recommended this.  It is based on Lady Windermere’s Fan by Oscar Wilde and was a joy.  Helen Hunt is wonderful as Mrs Erlynne and Wilde outrageously funny lines stand the test of time.

Inglourious Bastards – This is in many ways a typical Quentin Tarantino film, lot of blood and guts, however the story is somewhat different for him and the ending weak.

Bright Young Things – Directed by Stephen Fry this is a passable adaptation of Evelyn Waugh’s Vile Bodies.  Fenella Woolgar portrayal of Agatha is excellent, the rest of the cast and indeed story relied heavily for me on my interest in the 1930’s.  Not sure this is one I would recommend.

Hitch – a romcom with Will Smith as the ‘Date Doctor’ helping men get the women that they don’t have the courage to get themselves has all the right ingredients for the genre and while it will never win any prizes it will probably always find an audience, no complaints.

The Scarlet and The Black – never tire of this true story about monsignor O’Flaherty played by Gregory Peck (and a bad Irish accent) and his campaign to hide allied POW’s from the Nazis, who have sought the sanctuary of the Vatican.  His biggest opponent being the Gestapo officer Kappler played by Christopher Plummer (flipping his role in Sound of Music from hunted to hunter).

Dangerous Liaisons – I have had this in my collection for more years than I care to remember, so long in fact that there was no piracy ad at the start and just straight into the film without any need to press buttons.  I have also started watching it on more times than I care to remember and this time looked like being much like any other attempts to view it, but I decided to perceiver.  Despite its three Oscars however, I shouldn’t have bothered!

Breakfast at Tiffany’s – One of my all time favorites.  If you have never watched it, what have you been doing all your life?

One thought on “What I Have Been Watching

  1. Think it was me who recommended A Good Woman – wasn’t it great! Love the sound of the Gregory Peck movie, and the one about the Date Doctor. They are now on my film list. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Please leave a comment if you wish.

