Childhood Memories

As a child I was always an avid reader and a book was rarely if ever only read once, Enid Blyton’s stories about the Faraway Tree were amongst the most read.

Jo, Bessie and Fanny have an Enchanted Wood near their home the tree grow very thickly there and in the middle of this wood is an enormous tree; the magicial Faraway Tree.  It is the home to enchanted people such as Moonface (who has a face like a moon), Silky (who is a fairy) and the Saucepan Man (whose clothes are saucepans!), but the tree holds more surprises than the people who live in it.  This tree reaches right up into the sky and at the top there is a ladder which goes into the clouds and strange lands of witches, goblins, giants to name but a few.  The quickest way from the top to the bottom was via a giant helter-skelter down the inside of the tree.

Although these books played a big part in my childhood and my daughter read them as avidly when she was young, I rarely think about them now.  However, yesterday it all came flooding back when I spied this tree.  Now the tree is nowhere near big enough, and it isn’t in a wood, but if I had seen this as a child I know that I would have wanted to climb up it and see if there were any strange and wonderful lands at the top of it, and have a go at the helter-skelter that would have had me re-appearing down this slide.  I think Hubby was glad that I settled for just taking the picture!

the-faraway-tree

One thought on “Childhood Memories

  1. I too have always been an avid reader and re-reader from a very early age, but Enid Blyton (after Noddy and Amelia Jane, read before I even started school) lost her shine when I read in quick succession two stories one about a magic umbrella and one about a magic walking stick which were almost word for word identical, and I realised that this was lazy writing even though I was only five or six years old (certainly no older as I remember reading them in my parents bedroom in the house we left just before my seventh birthday). I did read some others – The Naughtiest Girl in the School and some of the Mallory Towers which a relative (who also gave me, much to my disgust, a Bunty annual) thought suitable reading for young girls – but I’m sorry that your favourite was never a favourite of mine.

    Now talk about Edith Nesbit: she was always my favourite along with L. M. Montgomery, Susan Coolidge, Louisa May Alcott, Noel Streatfield, Rosemary Sutcliffe, Antonia Forest (much better school stories than Enid Blyton), Laura Ingalls Wilder, Sheena Porter . . . . etc. etc.

    Like

Please leave a comment if you wish.

