The Island – Victoria Hislop

The island in question, Spingalonga, Greece’s former leper colony were the history of Alexis’ family is shrouded in her mother’s secrecy.

I can’t say I really enjoyed this book, I knew nothing of Spingalonga and to that end it was informative and I was curious about the history Sofia had buried in her past and was reluctant to share with her daughter, but the book probably wouldn’t have been finished if it hadn’t been for the fact it was this months Book Group book.  I was however the lone voice in feeling this way about the book as everyone else enjoyed it, so while I wouldn’t recommend it myself, others would, so the answer is probably read it for yourself and see what you think.

Please leave a comment if you wish.

