Ayrshire Gem

The sun was shining the sky was blue, it was my day off.

Apart from someone having to collect my brother from the airport this evening there wasn’t anything I needed to do. So we packed up the car with a nice picnic lunch and set off for Culzean Castle (for those of you who don’t know the place it is pronounced Culain). The Castle sits on the Aryshire coast looking out towards Arran and you can see along the coast either way – there are pictures of the Castle elsewhere. It has wonderful grounds and beautiful gardens, which was were we ate our picnic. While we were eating a plant caught my eye and after wards we went to have a closer look, it was one that I don’t know, if anyone out there in blogland knows what it is I would be most grateful.

unknown-plant.jpg

unknown-plant-closeup.jpg

The hot house had several passion flowers including an all white one, which I have never seen before.

passion-flower.jpg

The Passion Flower gets its name from the Passion of Christ on the cross. The 72 radial filaments represent the Crown of Thorns. The ten petals represent the ten faithful apostles. The 3 stigma represent the 3 nails (one nail for both feet) and the lower 5 anthers represent the 5 wounds (two hands, two feet and his side).

If you are ever in Ayrshire, Culzean is well worth a visit, both young and old enjoy it. I have many happy memories of days spent there with the students when they were toddlers and my mother. Eldest student used to love clambering all over the cannons, and the youngest gazing out to sea through the windows of the oval room. I was glad that Hubby and I have now had the first of what will be many more visits there together

Please leave a comment if you wish.

